A paradox about difficulty

Cat free

After I mentioned the book by Lawrence LeShan yesterday I was thinking about meditation and about difficult times in life.Often when things are hard for us, we get stressed,we get the”fight or flight” response which released adrenalin   and other hormones and we get narrower vision [I have actually had “tunnel vision“,it’s not a metaphor].We are ready to attack somebody or to quickly run away.Usually neither is possible so this response makes life worse.We get worn to a shred

When we need help,we can get in touch with something within us.The paradox is that we need to be relaxed to get in touch with this inner deeper self.We need to trust in something despite the dangers.In religious terms,trust in God is a common phrase.But not many Christians  I have known really do trust in God.I prefer to call it  the Unknown.After all,what or who was it that made the sperm and egg unite and then made the embryo grow into you?It was not by will power and effort that your mother grew you.It was by allowing this inner wisdom to act upon the embryo.So relaxing ,allowing,being are needed.How can we let go and trust in the inner deep self to help us?Maybe when we are in despair because we tried everything else and nothing works.This is a concern I am dwelling on today.I feel ,being Sunday,it is appropriate tio think of what some would call the spiritual side of lifeI was helped once when in a tragic  situation.I kept looking for a way out.Sitting quietly one day I found I suddenly knew I could do nothing except return to my notmal duties and accept the tragedy.We need to feel safe in order to trust

 

 

http://www.onlinecounseling.org/highly_sensitive_people.htmhttp://www.psychologytoday.com/articles/200304/how-remain-calm-during-uneasy-times

1 Comment

October 30, 2013 · 9:53 am

One response to “A paradox about difficulty

  1. I will risk another recommendation. It is a video series of lectures entitled “Listening to God” (or “Hearing God”?) by a philosophy professor named Dallas Willard, a teacher at the University of Southern California. He also wrote a book probably with the same name which my wife says is quite good. I thought it was the most – I want to say revolutionary but that is not the right word – series I have ever heard. Produced in that corny way so many religious videos are, but even that didn’t spoil it.

Do Leave a Response

