Sylvia Plath and emotional disorders

One person’s views on Plath,thinking too much and emotional disorders…

This Is Me

I read somewhere that Sylvia Plath once said, “If I didn’t think, I’d be much happier.” You know, I really think she’s on to something. Besides the thousands of people that think she is a goddess of literature, I have personal reasons to concede to her understanding.

Almost exactly a year ago, I was diagnosed with Generalized Anxiety Disorder, but my therapist now thinks that it may, in fact, be only a side-diagnosis with the main problem being Major Depressive Disorder. Ok, make up my mind here, David. Why am I medicating?

Sometimes it’s really frustrating. When I come home from work some days and absolutely collapse and am unable to do anything for hours, I feel like all of this thinking is a waste of time. When I start feeling as though life is absolutely meaningless and I have no purpose, it feels like thinking drags me down. But…

View original post 245 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Do Leave a Response

