Stupid? Or smart?(Repost) – Tyler Lee

Philosophy blog

Philosophy 12

Either I am smart or stupid

I am not smart

/Therefore I am stupid

I used disjunctive syllogism for today’s post. It’s a pretty simple syllogism that uses a simple form. An example of disjunctive syllogism is
Major premise:   Either the meeting is at school or at home.
Minor premise:   The meeting is not at home.
Conclusion:      Therefore the meeting is at school.

(From http://www.fibonicci.com/logical-reasoning/syllogisms/examples-types/)

Let’s discuss about the form and factual correctness of this argument. First, let’s take a look at my major premise: Either I am smart or stupid. To me, this is factually correct since I see nobody in between stupid and smart. Since this is true to me, the argument so far is sound. Now, take a look at the second premise. This premise is obviously not factually correct, so that means that the argument is now not sound. Since there is a…

View original post 36 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Do Leave a Response

