What is called thinking”         by Heidegger

This seems a good introduction to the book and to discussing thinking  in our era

Short Extract from the article

Heidegger refers to Nietzsche’s diagnosis of our age as a time of nihilism: “The wasteland grows.” If it is Being that most calls for thought, what most calls to be thought about in our age is the forgetting or withdrawal of Being. And it is due to the withdrawal of Being that we are still not thinking. In contrast to Hegel’s notion of history, Heidegger’s is a history wherein we find ourselves increasingly fallen from and more distant from Being. Being withdraws in our technological age as the experience of thinking is reduced to calculative rationality. “Thinking” has become the experience of using rationality as a device to operate on a world of things already reified into a network of ends. In our age, Heidegger (1968) will go on to argue, ratio has trumped legein. The thoughtfulness of calculative rationality threatens to obliterate the possibility for being-thoughtful.

10 Comments

October 11, 2013 · 2:03 pm

10 responses to ““What is called thinking” by Heidegger

  1. Pingback: Levinas and Heidegger | Cool lady blog

  2. An interesting introduction to the subject. I don’t even remember how I got there, but this led me somehow to an article on ‘new existentialism’ which seems to me a renewal of some of the original questions and studies that were associated with existentialism when I was a beginning student.

  3. I’m glad you found it interesting.Being thoughtful and calculative rationality are interesting poles.He wrote that in 1961… and it’s become more extreme.
    Will people have time to be thoughtful in the near future when they sleep with smartphones under the pillow?

  4. Probably way over my head. I took two classes in college and thought I could skip attendance for both. One was Psych Tests and Measurements, which was mostly multiple choice, and I got a “B”. But the other was Existential Phenomenological Psychology. When I showed up for the exam, there was a single essay question. I quickly realized I was outmaneuvered, and turned in a blank paper. Oh well. Such is existence.

    But following my instincts, I sense that the subject here might be the difference between what I’ve heard called “mindfulness” versus distraction.

  5. Pingback: Heidegger did one service: He showed us that thinking is not enough | Cool lady blog

  6. Pingback: Heidegger and other scholars | Cool lady blog

Do Leave a Response

