books and writing

If you look in the comments,ShimonZ has put a link to a fascinatingly good review in the NYT about Norman Mail.r.Plus you can see Shimon’s own likes for novels you may wish to read.As for the photos…

the human picture

D2122_26

Let me share some thoughts I had yesterday, as I was taking my daily walk. I finished reading ‘Drop City’ by T.C. Boyle this week, and I consider it a really fine book. But strangely enough, I almost stopped reading it about a quarter of the way in. And since that book, I’ve been reading another one; ‘A Ticket to the Circus’ by Norris Church Mailer. This second one is basically an autobiography, in which Norman Mailer plays a very important role. And so, a lot of my thoughts were related to Mailer as a writer.

D2122_44

But first, let’s look at ‘Drop City’. This book did not get a lot of rave reviews, and even before I started reading, I encountered a some criticism concerning the way he described the hippie commune. As it happened, I spent some time in California during the 60s, and had the advantage of visiting…

View original post 803 more words

Leave a comment

Filed under books

Do Leave a Response

